Out of the Ballpark

Life is often throwing me curveballs.

I grasp a vision of hitting that ball out of the park, I go up for the swing, and then….I usually fall flat on my face. No matter how many curveballs I get, nothing prepares me for the next one.

I always strike out.

I admittedly don’t get it. I had the best intentions, the best coaching, I put in the hard hours of labor and practice just to land flat on my face. What gives?

Oh right. My pride gave in.

America is a great country to live in. This is a land filled with plenty of opportunities. The more opportunities I try to seize though, the more I realize I’m going to land on my face. Hard. Until God positions me to succeed, it’s tempting to think that I should just stay there.

Dust on my face, tears in my eyes, and embarrassment all over me. If humility means I can fall down though, it also means I need to get back up again. And again. And again. And again. And…

You get the picture.

I’ve got the t-shirt. I’m in the game. There are no benchwarmers because God doesn’t just use his best players. There’s no “time out”. Everyone gets to go up to bat.  

I need to get up again. Someday that pitch is coming and when the time is right, I want to be ready to hit the ball out of the park. And I want to leave it all out on the field.

Romans 2:11 “For God does not show favoritism.”

Philippians 1:6 “Being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.”

Leave a Reply

